You are reading...
College Sports, Division I, Division II, Division III

Michael L. Buckner Law Firm Weekly NCAA Compliance and Enforcement Round-Up

This week the Michael L. Buckner Law Firm continues its weekly summary of the biggest news stories in NCAA compliance and enforcement. Below are the top stories for this past week.

Former IMPD officer William Benjamin resigns from NCAA after less than eight months on job

Takeaway: NCAA director of enforcement William Benjamin resigned from his position to “pursue other opportunities,” according to Stacey Osburn, a spokeswoman for the NCAA. Benjamin headed a team of six investigators who looked into alleged NCAA rules-violations. Benjamin’s work primarily focused on college football.

Closing arguments set for Sandusky abuse trial

Takeaway: Attorneys in Jerry Sandusky’s child sex abuse trial are set for closing arguments on June 21, 2012. The former Penn State assistant football coach is charged with 51 criminal counts involving 10 boys over a 15-year span. Sandusky has denied allegations. Jury deliberations will begin following closing arguments.

Is the CAA’s realignment decision unfair?

Takeaway: Colonial Athletic Association commissioner Tom Yeager recently revealed that the conference’s member institutions have voted Old Dominion and Georgia State ineligible for conference team championship play this upcoming season. The two institutions recently announced they would be leaving the conference after this season. According to the conference’s bylaws, “upon notice of an institution’s intent to withdraw, the institution’s teams become ineligible on a date determined by the remaining members to compete for Association team championships.”

Consensus reached on playoff

Takeaway: The BCS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick on Wednesday endorsed a seeded four-team playoff model for college football that would begin for the 2014 season. This consensus must be approved by the BCS presidential oversight committee, which meets June 26 in Washington, D.C. According to ESPN.com, the four participating teams would be selected by a committee, which would consider certain criteria such as conference championships and strength of schedule. ESPN.com also revealed that the two semifinal games would be played using existing BCS bowl games with the national championship game being offered to the highest bidding city.

UConn headlines list of 10 teams banned from postseason next year

Takeaway: UConn, Cal State Bakersfield, Jacksonville State, Mississippi Valley State, Texas A&M Corpus Christi, Towson, Arkansas Pine Bluff, UC Riverside, UNC-Wilmington and Toledo are ineligible for postseason basketball play next season due to poor classroom performance. The Academic Progress Rate measures eligibility and retention, rewarding programs for keeping players in school and on track to graduate.


About Justin P. Sievert, Esquire

Bar Admissions (North Carolina, Florida and Tennessee) Practice Area (College Sports Law)


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Twitter Feed

%d bloggers like this: