//
You are reading...
College Sports, General Announcements, Miscellaneous

Statement from the Michael L. Buckner Law Firm Regarding the Passing of Bill McBride

The Michael L. Buckner Law Firm family expresses its sadness with the news of the passing of attorney William “Bill” McBride.

Bill, a Tampa-area lawyer, ran for governor of Florida in 2002, but lost to then-Governor Jeb Bush. Bill’s wife, Alex Sink, was the 2010 Democratic candidate for governor. According to the Miami Herald, Bill suffered a heart attack while on a family holiday trip to Mount Airy, North Carolina. Prior to Bill’s entry into politics, he was managing partner of Holland & Knight LLP.

It was at Holland & Knight where I first met Bill. I was a second-year associate with an idea of starting a sports practice. At a firm meeting, I was bold enough to pitch the idea to him. Bill, true to his nature, was intrigued and requested me to submit a business plan. The business plan led to the establishment of Holland & Knight’s college sports practice. During the launch and growth of the practice at Holland & Knight, Bill became a mentor to me. His vision and trust allowed me, as a young professional, to develop the skills that I use at MLBLF. Without Bill, I would not be doing what I love.

On behalf of MLBLF professionals, I wanted to extend my condolences to Alex, Bill’s children and other members of the McBride family. Bill was a great man, and I will miss him.

–Michael L. Buckner, Shareholder

About Michael L. Buckner, Esquire

An attorney who provides clients with internal investigation, civil litigation, estate planning and compliance services.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

